PDA

View Full Version : Do any of you?

Ginnyb
09-25-2007, 02:52 PM
Go to the yarn shop and buy new yarn when you find a new pattern rather than use what you already have? I am fairly new to knitting (about a year ago) and I find I do this all the time! I have already horded quite a stash! It is an addiction isn't it? No cure?

Ginny

PurlyGyrl
09-25-2007, 02:56 PM
:waving:Welcome to the Wonderful World of Knitting. You are suffering from the stash enhancing afflication--buying yarn when you know you have perfectly good yarn at home.

Its terminal :pout:--there is no cure!

:teehee:

roseybee
09-25-2007, 03:01 PM
I've only been to one LYS (we live in nowhere land!) and it's about half an hour from my house. It's not what I imagine a LYS to be, though -- they are more of an all craft store, with no comfy chairs to sit in or whatever else I imagined a yarn shop to be...
Anyway, they do have yarn, and some nice stuff, in addition to Walmart type yarn. I hardly ever go to this town, and since we are a one car family, I don't even get out much...
But, whenever I happen to be in the town for any reason, I stop by the LYS, even if I don't have a new pattern! I tell myself I'm not going to buy new yarn until I finish this project, or use up more stash, but then I see something on sale, or fall in love with a yarn, and I buy something! My husband isn't always too happy, but his motto is if I'm happy he's happy!

Ingrid
09-25-2007, 11:05 PM
No, it apparently isn't curable. I could probably knit for the next 10 years and not use up what I have. And that's the 'good' stuff. Yet, I keep getting more.:shrug:

I suppose that like any addiction, you build up a tolerance. You start with the exact amount you need for a pattern, and graduate to buying yarn ahead of time for the next, and it sprals to buying yarn just because you like it and especially because it's on sale.