PDA

View Full Version : FO: Crochet Hats for Halloween

Mariblue
09-26-2007, 04:04 PM
They are a surprise for my kids.
It's been awhile since I have done any crocheting. When I first got married, I wanted to make a crocheted afghan, but it took so long to do the thing it's still unfinished! I feel like a complete beginner despite the fact that I crocheted a little when I was a kid. I'm left handed, so my mom and sisters never really knew how to teach me, so I've always just done really basic stuff. Last year I got the SNB crochet book from the library, and that really helped me out. But then I discovered knitting, and am only now doing a little crochet again!
Anyway, I used the Skull Cap (http://members.aol.com/JSchlossma/skcap.html) pattern for my daughter, who is 4 1/2 years old. And the Skater Hat (http://cbaj26crochet.googlepages.com/htm-freePatterns-skaterHat.htm) pattern for my son who is 7 1/2 years old.
The Skull cap was so easy and fast to make! The skater hat took a little more work on my part because of gauge. I only own two crochet hooks, and they weren't in the right size. I eventually figured out that if I worked the entire thing in half-double crochet, then my gauge was spot on. I did less of the pattern increases to get it the right size.
The black and white yarns are Caron Simply Soft, and the orange is Lion Brand Microspun in the Mango color.

Here are the pics:

Phretys
09-26-2007, 09:46 PM
Those look really great! Your kids are gonna love them for sure. :yay:

Debi

ritaw
09-27-2007, 04:48 AM
They look great . would you like to adopt me :)

mathwizard
09-27-2007, 10:19 AM
Really nice work! Your children will be proud to wear them especially since they can brag to their friends "MY MOM MADE IT" !!:cheering:

marykz
09-27-2007, 10:43 AM
those are just adorable!! what a clever idea. I like how the coordinate- but are different.

Mariblue
09-27-2007, 10:47 AM
Thanks, everyone! :hug:

unicorn
09-28-2007, 11:17 AM