PDA

View Full Version : FO-First Sweater...Little Disappointed

jdee
10-30-2007, 05:09 PM
I finally finished my first sweater. I decided to make one for DH instead of myself, because I knew he wouldn't be as depressed if it didn't fit as I would if one didn't fit me. :?? Does that make sense? Anyway, I finished it just now, and I'm pretty disappointed because it's Waaaayyy too big for him. He's proud of it, and of me because it's my first attempt, and it actually LOOKS like a sweater.:teehee:

It just bums me out, because of all that work, and it's going to have to be an 'around the house' garment. Anyway, here are the pics...

Newfygirl
10-30-2007, 05:19 PM
I think it looks good on him. You did a really great job - I can't believe it's your first sweater. I hope my first one looks that good.

jdee
10-30-2007, 05:22 PM
Thank you for the compliment. I think it's the sleeves. the're a little more 'bat wingy' than they should be.

Samsam
10-30-2007, 05:24 PM
no no!
It's a great first attempt!!
That sweater is far better than many of the men's sweaters I've seen in stores.

He's proud of it because he knows it's awesome!!!
sure it's a little big on the sleeves...but there's no fashion rule saying that's wroug, right? :heart:

KnittingNat
10-30-2007, 05:42 PM
I think it looks great:yay:! And your DH looks so happy about it. Even if it's a sweater to wear at home, it's still worth a lot - i'm sure you put a lot of love into it:heart:. A lesson i learned from knitting a sweater, especially for men, is to choose a smaller size than you know he's usually wearing. My DH is very average height and proportion and i knit him XS size. I checked the measurements and took into account that yarn, especially heavy, will pull the garment down.

mare-nitt
10-30-2007, 05:49 PM
You did a great job, good color and it looks comfortable.
He will wear it with pride, knowing you made it for HIM.

Jan in CA
10-30-2007, 06:02 PM