PDA

View Full Version : Pattern Help - "Bad Penny"

vcSmall
01-31-2008, 07:16 PM
I would like to make this sweater www.knitty.com/issuespring04/pattbadpenny.html. It is knit in the round. Patterns says to CO 140 sts. Then there are a few steps and then the have the following:
Inc round 1: K all sts.
Inc round 2: K to 1 st before marker, yo slip marker, k1, yo
Repeat these 2 inc rounds 19 times more
It all makes sense until I get to the next step that tells me how many sts I have: 60 sts per sleeve and 90 sts per body half - 300 sts in total.
The way I figure it I have 180 sts: 140CO+(2inc x 20).
Where did the 60 sts per sleeve come from???

Also, near the end of the pattern it says to inc 2 sts evenly around. Would I do this 1 st at the beginning of the row and 1 st at the end of the row and would I achieve the inc using a yo?

As it is knit from the top down, what type of CO would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your help.

PS I forgot to tell you that I am a beginner knitter (if you hadn't guessed that by now):shock:

Ingrid
01-31-2008, 07:58 PM
There are 4 markers placed, therefore you have 8 increases per round. That's where your missing stitches are.

To increase 2 evenly, increase in the first stitch and then halfway around. Don't do a yo, since it will leave an eyelet--fine for the raglan shaping, but you don't want random eyelets. Kfb for those.

I'd do a regular long-tail cast on since it's so neat.

Jints
01-31-2008, 07:59 PM
inc round 1: all knit, no increases.
inc round 2: has 8 increases. one yo each side of the marker. (yo, slip marker, k 1, yo.)

you will repeat both rounds 1 & 2 19[22, 23, 26, 27, 30] times more after the first.
20 x 8 = 160 plus 140 st you started with should get you 300 total when finished raglan shaping.
The increases towards the end, in this case I'd use Bar increase, (k1f&b) style increase or the M1L, not yo. one at beg. of round and another half way would work best.