PDA

View Full Version : Any Orchid Growers?

jdee
02-17-2008, 11:54 PM
I'm just curious, I guess. I have several house plants, but they're mostly ivies, spiders, and philodendrons. You know, plants that practically grow themselves. lol Anyway, I saw some orchids in Home Depot today, and according to the tag, they're supposed to be easy to grow. I always heard that no orchid is easy to grow. Has anyone seen these easy-growing orchids? What do you think?

KnitClickChick
02-18-2008, 08:07 AM
I bought an orchid years ago when it was in bloom. It has been about 8 years I guess, and while it is still alive it has never bloomed again. I haven't really "tried" to make it bloom, it just sits on the window sill in my kitchen. It is a miracle the poor thing is still alive, since it only gets watered when I remember. I'm not good with plants, and have killed even the most hardy types. ;) Anyhow, here is a link that has some pretty good info. http://www.beautifulorchids.com/orchids/orchid_care_tips/faq/frequently_asked_questions.html

stitchwitch
02-18-2008, 10:08 AM
I have several Phaelonopsis and one spider orchid. I do nothing to them and I mean nothing. They are outside though in complete shade and get alot of moisture from our humidity. Two are flowering now and the spider orchid just finished it's cycle. They are super easy to take care of but they don't make good house plants or good plants where it is cold or dry. Think jungle/rain forest if you're wondering where to put one.

jdee
02-19-2008, 12:35 AM
Just one more quick question. I'm sure the humidity level here wouldn't be an issue, but during the winter months, I'd have to bring them inside, where they would probably get too dry. If this occurs, will they perk back up the next spring, when I put them back outside?

boyforpele13
02-19-2008, 01:32 AM
hi there!