PDA

View Full Version : Beginner tools for learning to Crochet?

carambula
03-12-2008, 12:56 PM
Since I am a beginner and just found out my hubby used to help his mom crochet I would like to learn this craft first then learn to knit. What do I need? Type of hook etc... thanks!:grphug:

Mike
03-12-2008, 02:03 PM
Without getting into some hand mades there are basically 2 styles of hooks. The Boye brand type and the Susan Bates brand type.

I suggest going to Walmart and getting a Boye K hook and a 4 pack of large Crystalites (plastic but sizes you can only get in plastic).
Then if you like the Boye buy a pack of Boyes. If you like the Crystalites buy a pack of Susan Bates (not sold at Walmart).
That way you will spend the least amount of money to find out which type you like and you will end up with the largest selection of sizes that you should ever need (unless you're going to be making doilies).

Other than hooks there's really nothing else to buy for crochet.

carambula
03-12-2008, 05:54 PM
Thanks Mike, this simplifies it for me ALOT and I Appreciate it.. I do have a Boye but I think it is a J hook.. is that bad?

Mike
03-12-2008, 10:43 PM
No, the only reason I suggest getting the K is to save money.

If you end up liking Boye and get their set I think it includes J but not K.
The reason I say to get the Crystalite 4 pack of large hooks is because the Bates and Boye sets don't include those sizes.

It's not like they're that expensive to buy them all as singles. I just like saving money :)

salos
03-16-2008, 09:05 PM
I would recommend a Clover soft touch hook or a hook with a larger handle. Skinny hooks can seriously damage your hand, and also put more strain on your arm, wrist, and elbow. I use a Provo Craft ergonometric hook from Wal Mart. Pricey but so much easier on my joints.

coopersita
03-24-2008, 10:00 PM
I posted some how-to crochet videos on my site. They are meant for amigurumi (stuffed toys), but they may help you learn some of the basics: