PDA

View Full Version : Having a freak out...

picklesandpb
04-17-2008, 08:57 PM
Okay all...
I have a confession to make...
I am a novice knitter, but an avid learner, and am desperate to just pick up my needles and knit... I have two kits I got as gifts for my bday two months ago... and I haven't touched them. Bags of yarn given to me for free... unopened.
Sad, isn't it?
And I think I have figured out why.
Perfectionism. I am a new mom, and am frequently 'supermom' as my husband works long hours... and everything must be just [I]so.[U] And it is clearly seeping into my free time... my possible knitting time...

I am sooo afraid of screwing up. I don't want to mess up a project. I will cast on to practice, and knit a few rows of a pattern... then pull it all off. And then do it again.

Please tell me that I am not the only one who feels like this... I don't want this to be something I have started, and will never finish. I want to knit for my daughter... and me. And hubby...
How do I get over this???
Please help me!!!

Thanks for listening...
:)Becky

merryknitter
04-17-2008, 09:03 PM
Hi Becky,
Just calm down and take a deep breath!

I have been knitting just a little over 16 months and just want you to know that it's ok to make mistakes...everyone does...even the most experienced knitter does. Once you have that settled, you can just relax and enjoy your knitting!

You have a lot on your plate right now, for sure. I don't know if I could have fit knitting in when my sons were little...now that they are grown, I'm having sooooo much fun and you will too!

What are you going to knit first?

Becky Morgan
04-17-2008, 09:04 PM