PDA

View Full Version : UPDATE (pg. 2) - Selling hand crafted items from patterns

cookworm
05-05-2008, 01:02 PM
I hope this doesn't come out sounding rude, I don't mean it to be, but I am really wondering about this and I haven't been able to figure it out on my own, so here goes.

I like to do needle crafts, but I occasionally sew, too, and I use patterns for garments (since I am not a designer and don't know how to design my own garments, I have to use patterns). I noticed that with the sewing patterns for garments, I have yet to see a stipulation on the package that you are forbidden from making mass garments from that particular pattern and selling them for profit, so I wondered why it seems that in the knitting and crocheting world, it seems many people are kind of touchy about using their patterns to make things for profit. Now I totally understand why a person offering a free pattern would be upset if I decided to sell their free pattern (because that would be totally wrong), and I do understand why people offering free patterns may stipulate that you can use their free patterns for charity donations, but why is it when you buy a paid pattern--just like I would buy a paid pattern for sewing--many designers forbid you to make a profit off of mass producing items from that pattern? I'm not reselling the pattern, but maybe I would like to resell items made from that pattern, items made by my hands and my labor.

LilHuskiesFootBallMom
05-05-2008, 04:20 PM
there have been too many instances of someone using a pattern then turning around and claiming it was their own... check out some of the postings on different websites re: crochet world.

Someone made the item then turned around and sold the pattern to the magazine (it was IDENTICAL to the one this lady had come up with)

it's why i don't post any patterns i create.

Crycket
05-05-2008, 10:26 PM
Thanks for bringing this up....I have had simular questions...