PDA

View Full Version : Would you like something like this?

Eekee
05-15-2008, 12:43 PM
I'm thinking about making some soap sacks for my kids' teachers and giving them with some nice soap. It'll be knit like a little sock, with sock yarn, and a ribbed opening at the top so it can be reused when the soap is gone. They bubble up really nicely and feel good on the skin.

Is this something you'd use in the bath, or do you think the teachers might just use the soap and throw away my precious knitting? :knitting:

CognizantAmiga
05-15-2008, 12:51 PM
As a teacher, I would be touched to recieve a personal gift like that. You never know what happens with a gift once it leaves your hands. But I am sure the teachers would appreciate the thought.

Wildfire
05-15-2008, 01:17 PM
As long as they knew what and how to use it, I think your precious piece of knitting will be safe. In fact, I think the mere fact that it came from you will be reason enough for them to keep it =)

Jan in CA
05-15-2008, 01:43 PM
Well, since you asked.. I probably wouldn't. Everyone can use a nice facecloth with some soap though.

SBG
05-15-2008, 03:15 PM
Do you have a pattern? That sounds fun :) I mostly use body wash but if someone gave me one of those along with nice soap, I would give it a try.

Eekee
05-15-2008, 04:24 PM
I just started it like a toe-up sock and increased until there were 40 stitches. I knit in the round until the soap fit in, and did an inch of ribbing, and cast off. It took less than 2 hours.

It's pretty cute. But, I'm kind of with Jan. It's not something I'd make for myself, so I wondered if people would like it. I guess enough people would give it a shot. I'll enclose a little note explaining what it is.

losnana
05-15-2008, 05:49 PM
In your note, add that the soap can be replaced when used up. Oh, and I'd use it. I have something similar, but not a sock and not handknit. I use it every morning.

Knitting_Guy
05-15-2008, 05:54 PM