PDA

View Full Version : Crochet Sun hat for child

Karina
06-18-2008, 07:22 AM
I would like to make my daughter a crochet sun hat but have not been able to find a pattern so far.

Do anybody know of a free pattern for a hat that is crochet in the round to fit the head then have a ruffled edge to shield the eyes from the sun. not to frilly. would like to use rowan Handknit cotton to make it as I have loads of it.

Also not to complicated as I am very new to crochet. Thanks

mathwizard
06-18-2008, 08:10 AM
Crochet Pattern Central has a page just for children.
http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/hats_children.php

I looked and saw some really cute hats. Good luck!:inlove:

Karina
06-18-2008, 02:38 PM
I love the picture perfect hat. could you please tell me what a size 10 crochet cotton is. is it 4ply or DK or something completely different.

katknit
06-18-2008, 05:14 PM
No, it's a typical crochet cotton in a slightly heavier weight. The craft stores like ACMoore usually have it.

mathwizard
06-19-2008, 06:32 PM
Are you aware that size 10 is a thread. It isn't like cotton yarn but is used in filet crochet and doilies. It is thicker than sewing machine thread but is thread none the less. It will make a lovely hat. If you want something with more thickness I would suggest a lace weight or sport yarn. Worsted weight on a child's head might be too heavy.

MommaG
06-19-2008, 11:04 PM
Here's another link to hat patterns. If you scroll down there are kids hats and there is one similar to the picture perfect hat but for thicker yarn. I used it for one for my daughter and I think it took me two sittings to get it done.
http://www.headhuggers.org/patterns/patterns.htm

MommaG
06-19-2008, 11:08 PM
Here is a pic of her in her hat.

mathwizard
06-20-2008, 07:17 AM
Love the hat and the child is gorgeous!!!!:cheering:

Karina
06-20-2008, 08:41 AM
MommaG - Thanks for the link, I love the hat and your daughter is absolutely beautiful.