PDA

View Full Version : New Here

AAngels
08-25-2008, 01:08 PM
Hello Everyone,
I am new to this web page and it looks fun!:woot:
I have a question I posted on how to's but maybe it can go here too.
I have a pattern that calls for dp's which I want to change to circular, the size dp's are 15. When using a circular do I use a size 15 too? And when the pattern calls to start out with 6 sts how do u form the circle? I was trying this all afternoon. Frustrating.

Thank you
Kathy:knitting:

Jan in CA
08-25-2008, 01:23 PM
Welcome to Knitting Help!

The How-to questions or here is fine, but this forum moves fast and it's best to ask project questions in the other. :thumbsup:

There are lots of videos at the tabs at the top of the page and you can get more help at these links. I sometimes find it helpful to see two different tutorials when something is difficult. Sometimes I also prefer to have a print out sitting next to me. ;)

http://community.knitpicks.com/notes

Puddinpop
08-25-2008, 10:06 PM
Hey Kathy. Wouldn't the circulars have to be extremely short to connect 15 stitches? I'm not sure, but isn't that why you need to use dpns?

brittyknits
08-25-2008, 10:23 PM
Hi, and welcome!:hug:
First of all, yes, you would still use 15s. That number refers to the diameter of the needles, so if you are converting from dpns to straight to circulars, etc., you would use the same number to keep the same gauge, meaning, the same stitches per inch, so that your project comes out at the size intended. The only thing is that if the needles are made from a different material, that can affect the gauge. So let's say you're getting 2 sts per inch with metal needles size 15. But if you switch to plastic size 15, that might make it 2.5 sts per inch, even though they are the same diameter. The different materials will grab the yarn differently and change the size of your stitches.