PDA

View Full Version : Washing wool

reniegirl
10-14-2008, 06:08 PM
I just finished my first project made with wool. Now I need to know, what is a good product to use to wash it with? So what do y'all recommend?
Sharice

Ellieblue
10-14-2008, 08:03 PM
I use woolite. Just be sure your water temp remains constant for washing (just soak) and rinsing. Some people use shampoo which I think makes a lot of sense.

vhall
10-15-2008, 01:27 AM
I use Eucalan and love it. I have been using it for several years now and it just takes a small amount. I bought it especially for my wool things, but I use it on almost all of my delicate hand washables.

This tells about it:

Eucalan and Lavender No Rinse Wool Wash

Facts:
Gentle cleanser & condition
Recommended for all fine fabrics
Saves time, water & money
Is 100% Biodegradable
May be used in automatic washer
Requires no Rinsing
Contains no detergents or phosphates
Is concentrated

Contains Eucalyptus, Grapefuit or Lavender, both natural moth and flea inhibitors. Contains Lanolin - a natural conditioner, reducing static and controlling wrinkles

Lanolin Enriched Concentrates available in tradition Eucalan and now new Lavender! A true "no rinse" product excellent for washing delicates such as wool, cashmere, silk, linen and so on. Contains eucalan or lavender which inhibit moth and fleas. Perfect for spot cleaning rugs, needlepoint, upholstery, even sheepskin rugs and seat covers because of its no rinse properties. Regular soap products remove the lanolin leaving wool dull and lifeless. Angora in particular becomes sticky and matted. Eucalan conditions the wool and restores the lanolin to the fibers, leaving it soft and fragrant free.

Jax3303
10-15-2008, 09:30 AM
http://www.fuzzygalore.biz/articles/wash_sweater.shtml

cakemaven
10-15-2008, 10:35 AM