PDA

View Full Version : How do you know when..........

dairywife
12-19-2008, 12:12 PM
How do you know when to move on to a more complicated pattern or project?

I have been knitting again for about 3 months. I have made a scarf for DH, about half a dozen dishcloths in many interesting patterns, 30 candy cane cozy's and about half way finished with an afghan.

I have been looking at all the wonderful patterns of fingerless gloves and patterns for so very cute bags/purses. Some are cable, worked in round, multiple colors and/or designs. I have done nothing like these before. I have never knitted from a chart.

I am a 20+ year experienced crocheter. I have found that once I look up the knitting abreviations and understand the instruction it seems I have little or no trouble. But I have chosen to simply drool over the projects that really interest me. So, again I ask....How do you know when to move on to a more complicated pattern or project?

of troy
12-19-2008, 12:26 PM
you'll move on when you are ready.

you'll find a pattern that speaks to you, or yarn, or both..

you'll do fair isle or lace or something..

every one will OH, and AH, and you'll be pleased as punch.

or you won't! you'll be happy as clam making simple hats and scarves, and mittens on 2 needles and won't ever do anything more but admire all the other knitting.

it won't matter a bit!

MMario
12-19-2008, 12:29 PM
I'll second that. You'll move on when you are ready - or when the "right" project appears. It's really not a skill level thing - it's a desire thing.

Jan in CA
12-19-2008, 12:29 PM
You have the skills now to make more things. What is it you're dreaming of making? I made my first simple sweater when I'd been knitting for 3 mos. :thumbsup:

busyknitmom
12-19-2008, 12:31 PM