PDA

View Full Version : need opinions on sock yarns!

galadriel
01-05-2009, 01:55 PM
I am knitting a baby gift for a friend and want to make her 5 pair of baby socks. I have made one already with the basic "baby" yarn. My friend is really into natural things and the "green" movement and i would like to make some baby socks with an earth-friendly yarn or something like that. I have seen some but I am new to knitting socks and I am not sure what yarns are really good for that and it also has to be soft enough for a baby. Does anyone have any suggestions? I would really appreciate it, thanks!

newamy
01-05-2009, 02:34 PM
I've only knit a few pair of socks but my favorite for both softness and quality is Lornas Laces. They have a new Green Line...but I haven't seen it locally. One skein of their yarn is rather speedy but you could probably get quite a few baby socks out of one skein or make a matching hat.
You might also look at Blue Moon Fiber Arts, socks that rock yarn.. they are on line. They are very popular too, though I haven't used it myself.

Abbily
01-05-2009, 03:06 PM
I just got my first skein of Socks That Rock for Christmas. I haven't knitted it yet, but I wound it into a ball last night and just petted it a bit. :) It's LOVELY, soft and wonderful.

linknit41
01-05-2009, 08:19 PM
Abbily, i *love* 'pet' your yarn!! linknit41

linknit41
01-05-2009, 08:20 PM
ooops, i meant to say i love that you pet your yarn! my hands got ahead of my brain. linknit41

knit4u
01-07-2009, 09:17 AM
I like using Sockotta or Happy Feet,both by Plymouth Yarn..
Veronica

Newbie2Knitting
01-08-2009, 06:45 PM
Big fan of Knit Picks sock yarns. They knit up nicely and are very cost friendly.

galadriel
01-09-2009, 04:52 PM
Big fan of Knit Picks sock yarns. They knit up nicely and are very cost friendly.