PDA

View Full Version : CHECK MY TRANSLATION

PHOENIXMOON
01-07-2009, 05:10 PM
Hey all,
I'm a beginner-ish to knitting and a big newbie-beginner (with a capital NEW) to translating knitting patterns. Could someone check that I have done it right prior to me knitting this?

The Pattern Is:
Cast on 22 stitches and knit 2 rows.
Now you're ready to begin the lace pattern, which is as follows.

Row 1: (RS): K all sts.
Row 2: K2, p18, k2. (Those 2 border stitches on either end will always be knit in garter stitch—their role is to keep your fabric from curling.)
Row 3: K2, (K2Tog) 3 times, (YO,K1) 6 times, (K2Tog) 3 times, k2.
Row 4: K all sts.

Repeat rows 1 through 4 until you've reached your desired scarf length or run out of yarn, whichever comes first. End by completing Row 4, and then knit 1 more row and bind off all sts.

My Translation Is:
Cast on 22 stitches and knit 2 rows.
Now you're ready to begin the lace pattern, which is as follows.

Row 1 (total 22): (start on right side as in slipknot on right needle): KNIT all stitches.
Row 2: (total 22) KNIT2, PURL18, KNIT2. (Those 2 border stitches on either end will always be knit in garter stitch—their role is to keep your fabric from curling.)
Row 3: (total 16+wrap around) KNIT2, (DECREASE)x3 times, (wrap as if to knit, but not include stitch, KNIT 1)x6 times, (DECREASE)x3 times, KNIT2.
Row 4: total 17 )KNIT all stitches.

so my knitting should actually look like: cast on, knit, knit, pattern loop (row 1 row 2 row 3 row 4), knit, cast off

Many thanks all,
~*Phoenix*~

KnitTogether
01-07-2009, 05:32 PM
For every row that you finish in your 4 row pattern, there will always be 22 stitches on your needle. So the only part that confused me is when you indicated 16+1 stitches (17) for row 3, and 17 stitches for row 4.

Row 3: KNIT2 (2 stitches), (DECREASE)x3 times (3 stitches), (wrap as if to knit, but not include stitch, KNIT 1)x6 times (12 stitches), (DECREASE)x3 times (3 stitches), KNIT 2 (2 stitches).

2+3+12+3+2=22