PDA

View Full Version : Basic knitting queries

Ruchi
01-08-2009, 08:25 AM
Hi All,

I am a newbie in knitting. I have just completed a simple hat.. which looks adorable :happydance:

I have simply followed the instructions of a pattern that i found online.
Now i wonder how do people actually come to decide a pattern!
I mean they go like k2,p4,k2,yo... etc...

Like for socks i saw, it said take 42 and divide them in 3 needles..

Is there some counting method like after these many knits there should be these many purls.. or probably yarn over..

Please excuse me if these questions sound dumb...:aww:
I just want to confirm that I have not missed something basic in terms of knitting !

Thanks!

suzeeq
01-08-2009, 11:28 AM
You want to find some basic stitch patterns to incorporate into your sock. There are some at knittingpatterncentral.com, knittingfool.com and knittingonthenet.com Most socks start with ribbing at the cuff to help them stay up, then go to either stockinette or a lacey or cable pattern. You have to have the right number of stitches for your pattern, for instance, your 42 sts is divisble by 7, or a 6 plus 1 stitch pattern or 5 plus 2 sts. There are a lot of patterned socks at www.knitty.com too, look in the archive section.

reeny
01-08-2009, 02:39 PM
I am sure everyone designs a pattern differently, but I think the same basic considerations are made for all designs.