PDA

View Full Version : Keeping track of place in a chart

outdoordrea
01-12-2009, 01:02 PM
I'm sorry if this has already been asked, but I'm wondering what others use to keep track of their place in a chart.

I have a magnetic board that I got from KnitPicks, but I still have trouble (not all the time). Right now I'm working a color chart (fair isle).

Thanks!

kellee0302
01-12-2009, 01:06 PM
I have been hinting at a magnetic board as a gift for 2 years now and just finally got one over the weekend.
Before that I just used post it notes to keep track of my chart.

outdoordrea
01-12-2009, 01:10 PM
Have you used your magnetic board yet? I find the idea to be good, but the actual product to be cumbersome. It's heavy, and the sliding magnets don't seem to hold that well (it probably doesn't help that my puppy ate one of the short strips). If you find a good way to get the thing to stand up on it's own, while still being able to read your chart, let me know.

Mike
01-12-2009, 01:35 PM
Masking tape.

campbellmom549
01-12-2009, 01:36 PM
I make a copy of the chart and color code it with highlighters and then I mark off sections with a pen as I knit them.

GinnyG
01-12-2009, 01:38 PM
I have a magnet board but to tell you the truth seldom use it. I find sticky notes work great or I have two magnet thingy I bought on etsy. Two magnetic strips have a ribbon glued on one side, you put one magnet on the front of the pattern and the other on the back to hold it in place, it lines up with the row you are on and doesn't move if you drop the pattern.

Mirl56
01-12-2009, 01:54 PM
post it notes. Even if I use a magnetic board to hold my pattern, I'm more likely to use a post it note then a line magnifier to mark my row.

I also have this to hold a magnetic board: http://www.123stitch.com/cgi-perl/itemdetail.pl?item=123-8285

If you're using a magnetic board, just use a 3-4" magnet strip to mark the row you're on, rather then a line magnifier. it'll hold it's place better.

dustinac