PDA

View Full Version : I need help knitting

josephfrodo
01-18-2009, 05:15 AM
Um, I am new to the internet and threads etc., but I need help knitting this scarf http://www.helloyarn.com/irishhikingcarf.htm, I am new to knitting, like I have only done very basic patterns, but when I get to the second row, it seems like there are way more stitches on the needle than what I started with. Its like 80 stitches instead of the 42 that i castes on. Am I just totally doing it wrong or is it normal and I just need to know which part of the string to knit?

Knit4Pie
01-18-2009, 07:09 AM
I may be wrong, but I think you are getting your extra stitches when you move your yarn.

When you knit, your yarn is in the back; when you purl, your yarn has to move to the front (and vice-versa). Make sure that when you move your yarn from back to front, or front to back, that you go BETWEEN the needles. If you go OVER the needles, you make a yarn over, which creates an extra stitch.

There are some great videos on this site, just click on the Videos tab at the top and you'll get some great tips wherever you might need help!

WandaT
01-18-2009, 09:04 AM
Ditto on what Wenda said. Check out the videos and try to figure out where you're adding the extra stitches.

suzeeq
01-18-2009, 11:39 AM
The video that shows ribbing is under Basic Stitch Patterns on the Tips page

Cirrus
01-18-2009, 11:46 AM
Make sure each time you do a stitch that you are only moving one stitch from the left to the right. If you are somehow wrapping the yarn at the time you stitch, you'll get two stitches. Knit a few stitches and count to be sure you have the same number. Check the videos to be sure you are doing the stitches correctly. Seems like somehow you are creating an extra stitch each time.

Is it possible you are creating extra stitches somehow when you do the cable?

Let us know how you do. Don't give up.

I've made that pattern, and it's fun and makes a very nice, warm scarf.

Knitting_Guy
01-18-2009, 02:09 PM