PDA

View Full Version : Do You Knit and Crochet?

iteachdigital
02-13-2009, 10:40 PM
I am just learning to knit and I am excited about some of the projects I have planned. My grandmother was a very talented crocheter (is that a word) I would like to recreate some of our most cherished pieces some day.

I can see myself doing both knitting and crocheting. How many of you do both?

If just one, why?

Thanks,

Maria.. a newbie to this forum

globaltraveler
02-13-2009, 10:56 PM
Yup. My grandmother taught me to crochet when I was 4. I'm teaching myself to knit now. (I started New Year's Eve.) I never could get hand knitting into my head previous to this, even though I wanted to learn to knit rather badly. I'm having a great time now. :)

Marria
02-13-2009, 10:57 PM
Hi Maria--as you can see my user name is Marria, which was my nickname when I was a kid. My name is actually Mary.

Anyways---yes, I do crochet and knit both. I learned to crochet then I learned to knit. I enjoy both, and although I know some people think one or the other is harder, I don't find that to be true for me. I just think they're different.

I like to use crochet for afghans and sometimes scarves, and knitting for garments, although I have a couple of crochet sweaters on my Ravelry queue, and eventually I'll make one. I also sometimes put crochet edgings on my knitting.

Welcome to KH. This is a great community!

WandaT
02-13-2009, 11:08 PM
Yup, I do both. I find myself knitting more than crocheting these days, but I learned to crochet when I was very little. It's only been in the last few years I've learned to knit.

Mike
02-13-2009, 11:14 PM
I do both. Crochet for blankets and knitting for clothing.

knitcindy
02-13-2009, 11:20 PM
Yup, I do both as well. My grandma tried to teach me to knit when I was small, but I really picked up crochet from her when I was around 9. In the last few years, I've finally picked up knitting again and have taken off!
I like them both.
knitcindy

lelvsdgs