PDA

View Full Version : newbie wanting to knit socks

tourmaline
02-15-2009, 05:12 PM
Hi! I'm fairly new to knitting and am about to delve into knitting socks. I got some fingering weight yarn (so pretty!!) and now need to decide on the pattern and needles. I was thinking two circulars. Think this is a good idea? I would like the easiest method. The other thing I need is a book or manual of some sort. I need detailed explicit instructions!! Thanks!

Marria
02-15-2009, 05:13 PM
What method is easiest really depends on the knitter. As far as detailed information goes, check out Silver's sock knitting tutorial. It's excellent! It covers several methods of sock knitting.

http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/

rachejm
02-15-2009, 05:27 PM
What method is easiest really depends on the knitter. As far as detailed information goes, check out Silver's sock knitting tutorial. It's excellent! It covers several methods of sock knitting.

http://www.cometosilver.com/socks/

I made my first pair of socks following Silver's DPN tutorial, definitely check it out, its so easy to follow and takes everything step by step. I warn you, socks are highly addictive. Good luck!

cacunn
02-15-2009, 05:31 PM
You may also want to stop by the "Any Sock KAL 2 (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=74646)" they are a great sock oriented group. Any questions you have will be answered here but the Any Sock KAL is semi-sock oriented group.

tourmaline
02-15-2009, 06:39 PM
Thanks! I will use DPN's and use the tutorial. I can't wait!

knitgal
02-15-2009, 07:16 PM
You may also want to stop by the "Any Sock KAL 2 (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=74646)" they are a great sock oriented group. Any questions you have will be answered here but the Any Sock KAL is semi-sock oriented group.

HAHAHA! Semi-sock related group is right! We talk about socks sometimes...but mostly about everything else.