PDA

View Full Version : Just learning to cast on

Prissy
02-22-2009, 12:27 AM
Hi to everyone. I'm brand new to knitting and just stumbled onto this from a blog that I visit. I would love to learn to knit to make christmas presents for next year. Knitters are a neat bunch of creative people! I'm starting to watch the videos at night when I have the time. They are visually very technical and easy to follow. What is the best project to start knitting with and is it a good idea to have more than one going at once as I observe some experienced ones do.? Thanks for such a thoughtful, instructive and friendly place. Prissy

karebearcl
02-22-2009, 12:46 AM
Hey there,

I am also brand new and I began by watching the videos as well. I tried a potholder with basic knit and perl stitches and it turned out great. My only problem and maybe others can answer this as well (and you will need to know this as well), what do I do with the last little stitch on my needle after binding off?

Songbirdy
02-22-2009, 01:00 AM
Hi guys! Welcome and I hope you enjoy knitting!

What is the best project?

:teehee: there is no best... for me, I cast on and knitted the same scarf for about 3 years. Then one day I pulled out a simple sweater pattern with double strands and away I went. The scarf (knit every row, or garter knit) was good for getting the rhythm. The sweater, good for boosting my confidence. After the sweater (which sat in pieces for about 3 years because I was scared of sewing it up) I knitted a poncho. That was awesome for working on my tension. That went fast, relatively speaking. Then I spent one entire winter knitting slippers. I think I knitted 30 pairs! After that I went to socks... and so forth.

Is it good to have more than one at a time?