PDA

View Full Version : Patons: Southern Exposure

Abiah
03-12-2009, 04:38 PM
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to Knitting. I tried to pick it up a few years ago, but strife in my real life had me give it up quickly. I recently decided to give it another go and have picked out my FIRST pattern (http://www.patonsyarns.com/patternbook.php?PBS=500598+&PHPSESSID=64bf0204d8199800a145df88ccae8217) to make!

http://www.patonsyarns.com/data/pattern/image/image_530.jpg

Patons Southern Exposure! I'm using Vanna White's yarn in Moroccan colors of rusts, golds, purple, and greens to match what I am going to decorate my bedroom in. I really love the look of this pattern and how it uses so many colors. I find that when I knit, sew, or cross stitch that when they have more colors I don't get as bored. :teehee: And the special stitch to give it a 3D feel to the right side is SO easy to do! (I practiced the knit into front and back on my tension swatch and was so happy I got it!)

I'll let you all know how it goes!

Alexis

Jan in CA
03-12-2009, 05:28 PM
That's beautiful and quite a large project for a new knitter! :thumbsup:

Abiah
03-12-2009, 05:59 PM
What can I say...I love a challenge? hehehe! I was going nutso trying to find that first perfect pattern...I wanted something I know I'd use, something easy, something without shaping, and something that spoke to me. I really didn't want to make a wash cloth...and it's now March, so a scarf seemed to be something I'd not use by the time I was done...but an afghan? THAT I KNOW I'd use, because being chronically ill, I have to rest a lot. I hate heavy blankets and tend to sleep with just a sheet, but sometimes I need just a BIT more warmth, so I knew I wanted to knit myself a little blanket to use as well. I know it's big, but it's a very easy pattern. Hardest thing is keeping all the colors in order! haha

WandaT
03-12-2009, 09:24 PM
Congrats! It's a beautiful project! Keep us posted as to the progress!

GirlChris
03-12-2009, 10:24 PM