PDA

View Full Version : my other hobby

Woodi
04-03-2009, 05:50 PM
is making handmade soap from lovely edible oils, lye and water....I enjoy adding scent, sometimes using essential oils, sometimes the synthetic "fragrances" (which are more fun and actually sell better than the eo's). I have been selling my bars locally for 7 years now, and still enjoy it.

Aaaanyhow, today I made a 15-bar batch of soap and scented it with a new fragrance I just bought, called "Grape", which smells like those deep purply-blue grapes they sell each fall. The ones with the sour skins, and the grape pulp pops into your mouth whole, seeds and all - know those ones?

anyhow, I colored the oils a deep purply blue with oxide powders, just gorgeous. BUT when I stirred in the fragrance, the entire batch turned a dark green! Yoiks!!!?

Now my dilemma is: "what to name my 'purple grape soap'?...

'Green Grape that smells purple'?
'Purple grapes that turned green with envy' ?
Green grapes that smell purple?

all suggestions as to what to name this will be much appreciated.

Jan in CA
04-03-2009, 06:03 PM
:think: The middle one seems the most likely of that group, but I'm think it's awfully long. What about just "green with envy" and then if you have a description you can explain why.

Woodi
04-04-2009, 09:08 AM
HAHA, I like 'green with envy'.....or maybe "envious green grape"?

I remember what these blue grapes are called: Concord grapes.

anyway, a soaping friend suggested I wait naming it for a few weeks and see if the color morphs into something else, hopefully not brown though!

Other suggestions I got from friends are:
Grapes of Wrath

Sour Grapes
Grape Expectations

Fox Grapes or Vinifera or Labrusca

Green Grape Granada
Teal Fruit?
Juicy

Grapes
Concord Green

MoniDew
04-04-2009, 10:28 AM
Great suggestions here.

I just wanted to say that I've ALWAYS wanted to learn soap-making. SO creative! My fear of lye is the only think keeping me from plunging full-speed-ahead into a new hobby.