PDA

View Full Version : Can't Seem to Control the Working End of My Yarn

Beadbrain50
10-14-2009, 01:28 AM
I am a total newbie to knitting (but I do know basic crochet). I understand the mechanics of the English method knit stich and purl stitch, and I can do the stitches on straight needles. What I absolutlely cannot get is controling the working end of my yarn. I've tried the usual methods of wrapping the yarn around my fingers, and every other way I can think of, and I just can't seem to get it right, or get comfortable. Because of this, my tension is HORRIBLE and inconsistent. Is this typical of beginners? I'm perplexed!

Shandeh
10-14-2009, 05:20 AM
Everyone develops their own style of holding the yarn, to get their tension correct. Just keep trying different ways until it feels right to you.

Watch knitting videos on YouTube, and you'll see what I mean. Everyone has their own knitting style.

iaparent
10-14-2009, 10:06 AM
I am still pretty new at knitting myself (about 3.5 weeks) and I struggled with tension the most too. And having experienced knitters like my mom, sister and friends tell me that "I'd find my own mathod" made me crazy that first week or so. But I finally did and my tension is getting more constant. I think I still tend to knit tighter than others,but it is getting better and more consistent.

The way I hold is it that I wrap it once around my index finger, then over the top of the next two fingers, and down through the space between my ring and pinky finger. I don't wrap it again around my pinky (as my mom does) because it was too tight then. My sister and good friend just have it go over the top of their index finger and then hang down and they gently hold it in their hand (I think).

But THEN I was trying to purl with a double strand and I kept getting tangled. so then I had to switch my hold a bit and not have it dangle down between my ring and pinky finger.