PDA

View Full Version : Whats Better???

shaylen12
01-11-2010, 05:09 PM
Bamboo Needles or Metal??I have the metal ones right now and some Bamboo ones coming....which do you like best and do i need to do anything to the bamboo ones before i use them?

I'm new at the needle thing...when i first started knitting about a year ago i just went down and bought the cheap ones but now im told that the bamboo is better and easier to use.

Whats you opinion!!

Crycket
01-11-2010, 05:12 PM
It is all preference...

But mine is actually my harmony wood ones right now.

I haven't enjoyed bamboo cause it seems every set I have owned has ended up catching the yarn at the tip at one period or another...

I do like metal, but it is nothing but nickel plated for me! no going back to Susan Bates...and NEVER boye!!!

suzeeq
01-11-2010, 05:29 PM
It depends on the yarn and the individual knitter. Some people hate bamboo and wouldn't use them, others love it and wouldn't use anything else. Stickier yarns do bettern on metal, slick yarns are better on wood. Thin yarns like laceweight and sock are probably better on wood. Get a pair of inexpensive bamboo and try them out.

gotta knit
01-11-2010, 05:46 PM
There is no better, it's totally a personal preference sort of thing.

I had used metal & plastic before, preferred whichever had the pointiest tips (meaning it changed in different situations). When I bought my first bamboo needles (a circular for socks & some dpns), I wasn't sure what to expect. Ended up loving them. I'm sure it didn't hurt that they were really pointy! Found they didn't slide quite as easily, but they didn't grab either.

Be careful though, esp if you get them in small sizes. I bent a dpn with use and a tip of my circs got broken in my bag.

AngelaR
01-11-2010, 06:13 PM