PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE HELP ME!!!

pheonixphire318
07-11-2010, 08:49 AM
hi everyone.
i am very new to knitting (only been doing it a couple of months)
but i have gotten pretty good at reading patterns:woohoo: . i particularly love to knit hats:heart: , and i recently came across this beautiful beret (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_37z19RlGwHI/SzNxH9NhVaI/AAAAAAAACZo/AFEUQ3f6IRs/s1600-h/little+flower+beret+1.JPG)! i thought i'd give it a go but to my horror, the mastermind behind this piece did not write out the instructions:oo:...she charted them in stead:whoosh: here is the legend (http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_37z19RlGwHI/SzN2mMW622I/AAAAAAAACaQ/YEQoxxkamcI/s1600-h/st+michel+key.jpg)she provided, and here is the chart (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_37z19RlGwHI/SzN2apZOEyI/AAAAAAAACaI/kE-OYb72pYc/s1600-h/st+michel+ligh+weight+chart.jpg)
now here is my question:

should i ignore all the grey boxes that according to the key means "no stitch" and if that is so..dose that mean row1 only has 2 stitches, a twisted stitch and a yo? and if that is the case..what should i do with the other 6 stitches on my needle (we had to cast 8s on 4 dpn's)? slip them and then knit row 2? those "no stitch" boxes are really throwing me off becasue from what i have read about knit charts, EVERY box is supposedly a stitch in the pattern.

if someone can help me decipher this chart i would really appreciate it. i was looking fwd to starting this project sometime this week.
thanks in advance
Pheonix Phire

pheonixphire318
07-11-2010, 08:50 AM
also she said something about using a dinner plate for blocking, but i dont know what that means either.

Becky Morgan
07-11-2010, 09:29 AM
No, seriously, "no stitch" means "no stitch". Look at the shape of the beret and think how you'd draw it flat. It's like those world maps that look like an orange peel: something rounded represented on something flat. According to the directions, you work each section twice on each needle's stitches.