KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Changing needle size in Magic Loop (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101276)

megaknit 10-26-2010 03:18 PM

Changing needle size in Magic Loop
 
Hello! I'm working on some fingerless gloves in Magic Loop. I have the interchangeable kit but unfortunately it doesn't include needles in the sizes I need, so I had to get separate circular needles in sizes 2.25 and 3 mm. In the pattern, I start off doing the cuff using the 2.25mm needles and then I need to change to the 3mm needles. I'm scared, though, as I haven't done this in Magic Loop before! Can anyone walk me through how to do this? I have read in some other threads that you just knit onto the other needles like normal, but I guess I don't really understand how that works in ML....Please help!

boyforpele13 10-26-2010 04:22 PM

That's correct, you just knit onto the new needles.

When you are ready to change needle sizes, slide the stitches onto the needle as you normally would, but work them with the new needle. When you finish that first needle, make sure to pull the new needle through so the lengthy side is dangling from the end you just worked, and that is the end you use to knit the next needle.

Hope this helps! (and makes sense, sort of hard to describe. I think the important thing here, though, is the pulling the new needle through and using the same end to knit with really, otherwise you wind up with wrong-facing needles.)

suzeeq 10-26-2010 05:20 PM

It works the same way. Just keep the 2.25 in the L hand and take the 3mm in the right hand and knit the first set of stitches. Then loop the R needle and knit the other set of stitches and all of them are on the 3mm.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 AM.


copyright knittinghelp.com