KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Absolute beginner needs help with her striped scarf! :) (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101951)

IslandGirl 12-11-2010 09:43 PM

Absolute beginner needs help with her striped scarf! :)

Hi there! I'm hoping some of you nice people can give me a hand with my first knitting project.

I'm trying to knit a striped scarf. The problem is that every time I change colours, there's a line of the old colour on one side of the scarf. I've tried both stockinette and garter stitch and the line shows up in both. I thought maybe I was doing something wrong when I changed colours, so I looked up some videos but the line appeared there too. Is it possible to knit a flat striped scarf without that unwanted stripe of the old colour? What am I doing wrong?

I only learned how to knit and purl recently, so if I sound like a complete noob, it's because I am! :mrgreen:

Thanks so much for your help!

MerigoldinWA 12-11-2010 11:20 PM

Hi, welcome to KH and to knitting. :cheering: You aren't doing anything wrong, that is just the way it works. When you change the colors it will have the bumpy line you are getting show up on one side or another. It is common on scarves and one side is just the "back". Someone suggested recently that you could make both sides look the same and look like you wanted it that way by putting some of the color change bumps on both sides.