KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Repeating in a lace chart (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=103023)

Aimee88uk 01-27-2011 03:42 AM

Repeating in a lace chart

1 Attachment(s)
Hi! I'm so happy for any help! This is my first attempt reading from a chart, and I understand the basics, wrong side left to right and right side right to left. What is confusing me is the repeated part. It's 18 stitches long, but I have 91 stitches to work with. When I get to the end it seems like I will be somewhere along the repeat, not neatly at the end of the block, so then where do I start the next row so it will all line up?

The instructions are under the beginning of Left Front. This pattern has you do a strip of lace, knitting top to bottom and then back to the side seam. If I can do the lace bit, the rest is easy and I'm looking forward to doing this project. It's for my Grandma!

Thank you!

hyperactive 01-27-2011 04:35 AM

Hi!
When you work a pattern like this, it may actually be, that you end your row / round within the repeat. That can happen.
But it does not happen here.

91 stitches, 18 for the repeat:

when you work, you do 1 to 18, 1 to18, 1 to 18 and so on. Do that 5 times. Then you have worked 90 stitches. And there is the miracle: the one stitch that is shown behind the repeat: the last stitch of your right side row or the first stitch of your wrong side row. It never gets worked, but only those times at the end of your row / at the beginning.

so you just work within the red box until you get to the end of the row and have one stitch left (seen from right side). That stitch is a purl on right side. Work it and your row is done.