KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   Crochet! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Beginning Crocheter. (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=105756)

EleanorRH 09-24-2011 07:30 PM

Beginning Crocheter.

Hello! I'm quite new to crocheting, and I was hoping some people might have tips for starting out!

DogCatMom 09-25-2011 12:50 AM

Are you looking for books? videos? websites? stitch recommendations? Crochet is a pretty big world unto itself; where would you like to...ah...hook into it?

DCM

Antares 09-26-2011 11:18 AM

My advice: Get some yarn (worsted weight maybe) and a few different sized crochet hooks (sizes recommended for yarn of choice), watch some videos or look at some books to get some direction, and start crocheting.

Everyone learns in a different way, so if one method of teaching yourself doesn't work, try another. Once you learn some of the basic stitches, you can then learn to read patterns. You'll be off and running in no time!

By the way, I tend to learn better if I've set a goal for myself--which is why I dove head first into a project while teaching myself to crochet and to knit. If you get stuck, you can always come here and get help!

Becky Morgan 09-27-2011 12:49 AM

Welcome to the dark side! :teehee: I've crocheted longer than I've knit, and that's fortymumble years...

Get yourself some smooth light-colored inexpensive worsted yarn in a shade you like and find a couple of hooks that look like they'd fit. I know some people start out with tiny hooks and thread, but I wouldn't! You'll be frogging a bunch at first, so I wouldn't use wool unless you have a lot lying around.