KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   How are you VS How are you doing? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=109904)

blueygh2 08-03-2012 06:16 PM

How are you VS How are you doing?

Hi.

Being an english linguistics student, I would like to know whether to you, there is a difference between "How are you" and "How are you doing".

I have been told there is, but I would like to get "real" results.

If you comment, please tell me how they differ to you and what kind of english (american, british, australian,...) you are speaking.

Thank you very much.

Antares 08-04-2012 12:28 AM

American (Texan) English speaker here--there's no difference for me, except that "How are you doing?" MIGHT have more emphasis. But really, I can ask "How are you?" with the same amount of emphasis, so I don't differentiate.

Interesting that some people think there is a difference. Hope you'll share what that might be.

Jan in CA 08-04-2012 02:01 AM

I just speak American English. I live in Southern California.

I think they mean the same thing really, but they might be used in different circumstances. I think I'd use "how are you doing" to so done I know and "how are you" with someone I just don't know or know as well although either would work fine in both situations.

salmonmac 08-04-2012 05:53 AM

American speaker here. Yes, "How are you?" seems slightly more formal in comparison with "How are you doing?".
Also "How are you doing?" uniquely fits the situation where you're checking on how someone is progressing with a task or dealing with a situation.

amy 08-04-2012 10:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by salmonmac (Post 1353601)
"How are you?" seems slightly more formal in comparison with "How are you doing?"