KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   trouble with gauge (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110088)

knitaholic 08-21-2012 01:16 PM

trouble with gauge

Hi,

I have been knitting for several years and have always been able to get the correct gauge for my projects. However, I just purchased a new pattern for a top-down cardigan, bought my yarn, and for some reason, I cannot get the correct gauge for this pattern, after changing needles several times.
I have knitted cardigans and pull-over sweaters before, and have always gotten gauge. I don't know if it's the yarn, the pattern or me.
Does anyone have any suggestions what might have happened? When I changed needle sizes, my fabric seemed "stiff". So, I have put my pattern away and have given up on this particular project. By the way, my yarn is Plymouth Encore.

Thanks,

Knitaholic:??

Ingrid 08-21-2012 01:24 PM

It could be the pattern is written for a knitter that's looser or tighter than you. You could make a swatch with a needle size that gives you the fabric you like, check your gauge and see if the size would match up with a different size of the pattern.

suzeeq 08-21-2012 01:39 PM

Try making a large swatch, about 6" - we often tend to knit tighter on smaller things - then wash and dry it like you will the finished pattern. When it's dry hang it for a day or so, to mimic what happens when the sweater's worn. Measure gauge before and after blocking and after hanging to see if that helps loosen up the gauge or the stiffness.

margrue 08-21-2012 07:13 PM

"By the way, my yarn is Plymouth Encore."
It would be helpful to know what yarn the pattern recommends, what the gauge of the pattern is, and if your yarn is the same weight as that recommended by the pattern.