KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   CONFUSED!! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110152)

Jem1030 08-28-2012 12:27 AM

CONFUSED!!

I posted before that I am extremely new to knitting and i'm completely lost! I am very confused about the needles. I was going to order some and I just dont know what I'm doing! I found a package of 16 needles it says it goes from US 0 - US 16 and that they are 12 inches. What does that mean? Is 12 inches the length of the needle? If so is it crucial? Like do you need to use different lengthed needles for different projects? I want to start with a scarf and I looked at some patterns on the website and the ones that tell you materials needed are saying US 8 but nothing about the inches/length?! Also I noticed that some of the patterns on this web site don't even tell you what needles you would need? I'm also very lost about the yarn lingo is there somewhere I can go to learn about the differences in yarns? I saw this website has the abbreviations but nothing about the yarn? PLEASE HELP!!! I really want to make this a hobby but I am so very confused lol

SandsLVT 08-28-2012 12:54 AM

For straight needles, length isn't super important unless you're making an afghan or some other really wide project. My first straight needles were 10 inches or so. That length is perfectly fine for scarves, dish cloths, hats worked flat, etc. Length of needles is more important when you're knitting in the round on circulars; and then it's the length of the cable holding them together that makes up the majority of the length.