KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   I'm a Beginner and I Don't Know What to Do! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110455)

toby4 09-19-2012 09:09 PM

I'm a Beginner and I Don't Know What to Do!

I've been knitting for years so I'm not exactly a beginner, but my skill is beginner-level since I've never tried to make anything more complex than a hat. (I only recently discovered how to make a cable pattern!)
So, I've been trying to make sense of the directions for this.
I can make out what the first page says, but not what the second page says. I'm lost at "CO 48 sts between first and second scarf. Work remaining scarf to end in pattern. Turn. (100 sts)"
It started off with 26 stitches. When did it turn into 48? Everything, including this, is gibberish. I really want to make this for a friend, so could someone please dumb it down for me?
Thanks!

Ingrid 09-19-2012 09:40 PM

You make two scarves and join them with the hood stitches. Those are the 48 stitches that you'll cast on to join them. 26 + 48 + 26 = 100 stitches total.

With any pattern that looks complicated, I suggest that you just forge on, line by line. Don't look too far ahead. It's kind of like looking at page 8 of the directions for building a bicycle. "Fit flange B into slot C."--until you have flange B and slot C in front of you, it makes no sense. Very often with knitting, until you have the piece in front of you, it's impossible to visualize how it will all come together.

fatoldladyinpjs 09-19-2012 09:45 PM