KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Knitting from cast-on side? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110573)

whensomever 10-01-2012 01:05 AM

Knitting from cast-on side?

Hello,

Complete and utter novice here. So this is probably a really stupid question.

I'm close to finishing my first knitted thing, a scarf. So here's what happened: I finished the scarf, and realized that the tension for the first 20 rows was looser (from when I was first learning to knit) and it was more noticeable than I thought it would be.

I thought oh, I can just re-knit those rows. So I unravelled the cast-on managed to get the loops back on a needle properly (I think).

Then I realized that I can't just knit as normal because it's going to be backwards (I think?) At least, it doesn't look like it usually does at the end of the needle because I suppose it's in reverse.

So my question is, how do I add those 20 rows back onto the scarf?

Thanks!
J

Jan in CA 10-01-2012 01:18 AM

Do you mean the working yarn is on the other end? If so you just need to work on the other side of your knitting.

If you're using circular needles slide the stitches to the other end and turn your work.

If you're using straight needles you just transfer them to the other needle and turn your work. You transfer by sticking your needle straight into the stitches and slipping them to the other needle.

Watch for twisted stitches, too. They will look like the back leg of the stitch is further to the right when the row is stretched. If they are don't panic. You can lift the stitch off with the right needle and turn it around OR the easiest way is knit into the back of the stitch. It's called Ktbl and there is a video. Go to the glossary linked above.

If you mean something else just ask.

whensomever 10-01-2012 01:24 AM

Hi Jan,