KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Turns (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=111135)

mth226 11-29-2012 09:27 PM

Turns

I am seeing a lot of post on "turns" but I not sure if it answering my question. I am fairly new at knitting. I can do the basics "knit" "purl". I am wanting to start a Noodle Scarf I found on Pinterest. Not sure if the instructions are correct or not. Either I am doing it wrong or the pattern is not correct. Can someone please help me?

Pattern:
Size 10 needles
Cast on 20
Knit 20, turn
Knit 8, turn
Knit 8, turn
Knit 6, turn
Knit 6, turn
Knit 4, turn
Knit 4, turn
Knit 20 across
Repeat until desired length
Bind off

Thank you

salmonmac 11-29-2012 09:41 PM

Turn means to work back in the other direction. To do that you turn your work as though you were at the end of a row. If you cast on 20 and knit 20, you are at the end of the row so the turn is no big deal. The next directions are to knit 8 and then turn. You'll leave some sts on the left needle unworked but don't worry about them for the moment, just knit back on the same 8sts. Keep following the stitch numbers and turn (take the left needle in your right hand and right needle in your left) and work the given number of stitches.

Antares 11-29-2012 09:46 PM

A question (for future reference): When you turn and work back on a short row (i.e., one that has less than the 20 stitches in this pattern), do you use the same two needles to work the stitches, or would you need a third needle?

Thanks!

mth226 11-29-2012 09:51 PM

Thanks, I will try again. I did as you suggested and didn't think it looks right. I only went through the first series so I will try to do more and see how it turns out. It does not mention anything about a 3rd needle.

MerigoldinWA 11-29-2012 09:56 PM

Quote: