KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   American knitter using UK pattern (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=111828)

musiqua 01-20-2013 03:47 AM

American knitter using UK pattern

Hi everyone,

In case anyone has the pattern, I'd like some help with the Twilleys of Stamford (456) Lacy Glove pattern (pg. 30). I am new to lace knitting. I have knitted lace before, but years ago.

The instructions state "K tog first st with corresponding st of cast-in edge, *K tog next st with corresponding st of cast-on edge, rep from * to end". I don't understand how to do this K tog. I presume it doesn't mean a simple K2tog.

I am an inconsistent knitter (I'm sure you're all aghast at that thought), so thorough explanations at the level of near complete idiot are appreciated.

Don't know if this will help you for possible analogy use, but I am a very skilled sewer and crocheter.

Thanks in advance!

Jan in CA 01-20-2013 12:04 PM

It sounds like you're making a hem. When they say "K tog" they mean k2tog or knit 2 together. Does that help?

GrumpyGramma 01-20-2013 12:57 PM

Like Jan says, it sounds like a hem. I can't find anything specific to picking up a stitch from the cast on edge but if you look here and scroll down to Step 5, you might get a better idea of what you're doing. You could pickup the stitches at the cast on edge onto a second needles. Then the three needle bind-off Jan mentions would be next. There are two videos for it here, one English and one Continental. Did your pattern call for a provisional cast on?

Jan in CA 01-20-2013 01:01 PM

When I do hems I do them with a provisional cast on so it's easy to do. With a previous cast on you'll just try to pick up a cast on stitch for each each stitch of your stitches.

GrumpyGramma 01-20-2013 01:13 PM