KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   Pattern Central (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Can you help me? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112224)

jensaks 02-19-2013 12:31 AM

Can you help me?

I'm a newbie on this forum, and I've asked for help a couple of times already. I came here because I'm knitting a baby sweater and I am stuck. The pattern is from Rowan's Just Baby, in case anyone here has it. The sweater is Nolan.

I've done the front up to where I am to start shaping the front neck. It's a raglan sleeve plum and purple striped sweater and buttons down the front on a diagonal at each shoulder. I just finished the front, ending on a plum-colored stripe, 33 stitches left on the needle, followed by one row with RS facing.

So here's where I'm at:
Shape Front Neck
--Next row (RS) K2, K2tog,K3 and turn, leaving remaining stitches on a holder. 5 sts.

--Work each side of neck separately.

--Next row: sl 1, K2tog, psso and fasten off

--Next row (WS): P2 tog, P4 --Next row K2, K3 tog

--Next row: P2tog, P1

--Next row: K2tog and fasten off. With RS facing, rejoin appropriate yarn to rem sts, cast off 19 sts, K to last 4 sts, sl 1, K1 psso, K2, 6 sts.

Complete to match first side, reversing shapings.

I have NO CLUE as to what they're talking about. First of all, I have 33 stitches on the needle and the instructions tell me to: K2, K2tog,K3 and turn, leaving remaining stitches on a holder. 5 sts. How do I end up with 5 stitches, when I start with 33? I KNOW I'm reading this wrong!

I can take it over to the knit shop and ask them, but I'm hoping this will make good sense to someone tonight so I can get back to work on it. Thanks so much, Jennifer

salmonmac 02-19-2013 07:24 AM