KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Sock heels (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112296)

KnittinGal 02-24-2013 07:30 PM

Sock heels

1 Attachment(s)
Hello! I'm new to KnittingHelp forum, and am a young knitter who simply loves my new hobby!

I'm working on my first pair of socks, and am having a bit of trouble interpreting the pattern directions. (I have attached it in PDF format.)

The pattern starts at the top of the sock and works its way down using DPN's. I've gotten up to the "Divide for the Heel" point, where the directions say to...

"DIVIDE FOR HEEL: K13 from 1st needle. Slip last 4 sts from 1st needle onto beg of 2nd needle. Slip last 13 sts from 3rd needle onto beg of 1st needle. 26 sts for heel are now on 1st needle. Divide rem 26 sts onto 2 needles and leave for instep.

MAKE HEEL: 1st Row: (WS) Sl1P. Purl to end of row.
2nd row: *Sl1P. K1. Rep from * to end of row.
Rep last 2 rows until Heel flap measures 2 1/2 inches, ending with a WS row."

When it says 1st row, are they talking about ALL the stitches, all the way around the three needles, back to the stitch marker at the beginning of the round? Or, is it simply all the stitches on the first needle? In other words: does a row mean the stitches on one particular needle, or the total number of stitches all the way around?

One more question...am I working flat on the wrong side? I read something that talked about working only on the wrong side for knitting sock heels, but I have no idea what that entails. Can anyone clue me in? :shrug:

Thank you in advance!!!
KnittinGal

salmonmac 02-24-2013 08:12 PM

Hi and welcome!