KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   GAUGE!!!!!!!! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=112643)

AnnieBear 03-25-2013 05:32 PM

GAUGE!!!!!!!!

I am fairly new to knitting and am having a terrible time with gauge!
I have changed needle sizes up and down and usually end up with too few stitches per row and too many rows per inch. What am I doing wrong? I did try substituting a different year than the one called for the in the pattern but they are the same #4 worsted weight - could that be the problem or at least part of it? As I have look through the different brands of 4 ply yarns that I have - they all appear to be completely different from one another.
Appreciate the help
Thanks
Lorraine

Lizars1735 03-25-2013 05:47 PM

If you have too few stitches per inch, go with smaller needles. I'd try to get the stitches per inch right before worrying about the rows per inch. Depending on your pattern it might not matter as much.

salmonmac 03-25-2013 05:56 PM

Yes, The number of sts that you're getting per inch will tell you which way to go in needle size. Take a look at the videos on gauge under the Free Videos tab at the top of this page, Getting Started. There's lots of good advice on gauge which is so important.
Number of plies is an unreliable measure of yarn size and weight so go with the number system or the gauge given in the pattern in sts/inch.
Also, when you measure gauge, be sure to knit a good sized swatch, about 5"x5" or 6"x6". That way you can more accurately measure over the middle 4" and estimate your sts/inch.

suzeeq 03-25-2013 05:57 PM

Most patterns use a measurement for lengths, so the row gauge isn't as important as matching stitch gauge.