KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   M1 and a hole? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29701)

1knittinggrl 05-01-2005 07:26 PM

M1 and a hole?
 
I am just embarking on a pattern with M1 and am discovering holes in my knitted work. I am using the method of picking up between the stitches. Is it me or my M1?

Silver 05-01-2005 07:31 PM

It's your technique. For a M1, pick up the bar between stitches, grab it from front to back, then knit into the back loop to twist the stitch, thereby avoiding a hole. If you do not twist the stitch, it's technically a yarn over.

Which, by the way, is good to know if you are knitting a pattern with yarn overs. If you forget a yarn over on the previous row, pick up that bar and do not twist it to add the yarn over without having to rip out or unknit. ;)

1knittinggrl 05-01-2005 07:44 PM

Yes, it did seem like I was really only accomplishing a yarn over; but I thought I was following my instructions. I will try your method. I am much better at using the videos on this site, but I still was not getting it - not without a hole --! Thanks for your help.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 PM.


copyright knittinghelp.com