KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Joining Stitches when working on circular needles (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30018)

DrAgOnFLiZ79 05-19-2005 11:12 PM

Joining Stitches when working on circular needles

I am new at knitting. I am trying to make a pocket book. Anyway I needed to cast-on 90 stitches on a round needle and then join them together. I watched the video on this site. But when I tried joining them everytime I made a complete circle and got back to that point you could totally tell that is where I was trying to join them and it wasn't tight, it was
rather lose. I'm not sure I am making any sense. . . .
The question is how do you join them together to make it look right and part of the pattern and the seam to be sturdy.

Thanks,

Much Help Needed!!!!!!!

knitqueen 05-19-2005 11:20 PM

Just to make sure, you're starting with the working yarn on your RIGHT needle, correct?? What's worked for me is to make sure I give a good tightening tug to the first TWO stitches. Tightening the second stitch more than you usually would will tighten the first one too.

DrAgOnFLiZ79 05-20-2005 12:20 AM

yes, I am starting with the working yarn on your RIGHT needle. Thanks I will try again. Maybe I just need to tug tighter the first few

KellyK 05-20-2005 07:24 AM

That looseness will work itself out a bit as you continue to knit your rounds.

This is just another one of those things that requires practice & developing your own knitting style...

ekgheiy 05-20-2005 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KellyK
That looseness will work itself out a bit as you continue to knit your rounds.

This is just another one of those things that requires practice & developing your own knitting style...

I concur! :D It's a matter of fine-tuning your tension. :XX:

feministmama 05-20-2005 11:48 AM