KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Need help, please (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30028)

Lane_Black 05-20-2005 09:30 PM

Need help, please

Hi everyone...
I'm a newbie..I just started knitting 3 days ago and i've been trying to make a scarf for a costume and someone said that it is "double-thick, so there's no distracting wrong side", but i donīt know how to do that..can anyone help me, please?

Thank you.

Sara 05-20-2005 09:43 PM

I have the yarn on order for a Ravenclaw Harry Potter. The reason that it's "double thick" is that it is done on a circular needle, then laid flat and stitched shut at the ends. So you would need to cultivate the skill to use a circular needle, change colors and do the three needle bind off in order to do the Prisoner of Azkaban scarf. All of this is possible if you feel up to it, and you can find the videos on this site to help you.

When does this scarf need to be finished? For the book launch?

ekgheiy 05-20-2005 09:45 PM

Re: Need help, please

Well ... you could do double knitting. Or you could knit two strips and seam them together. Or you could also make one big strip and fold it in half, seam the edges. If you knit one big piece and fold it, you may have to block it to keep flat.

Hope that helps :??

KellyK 05-20-2005 10:01 PM

I think circular knitting will be the easiest of your options...there are GREAT videos on the Advanced Techniques page.

Sara 05-21-2005 12:09 AM

The pattern you list from Atypically Knit is done on a circular needle. I think it might be easier to try than knitting flat. If you knit on straight needles, you have to alternate rows of knit and purl and then you have to seam all the edges. If you knit it circular, you only have to do the knit stitch.