KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Getting a hole when increasing using M1 (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30409)

stacyo415 06-24-2005 07:24 PM

Getting a hole when increasing using M1
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm lifting the bar between 2 stitches with the left needle from the front, then knitting into the back of the stitch, yet it's creating a hole in my work.

any idea what i'm doing wrong?

the pictures shows 3 increases. the middle one looks ok. but not the first and 3rd.

thanks!

Ingrid 06-24-2005 07:45 PM

I've done this type of M1 in the past and it's been virtually invisible. Are you sure you got it into the back part of the bar you picked up? It's a pain to do and easy to miss. If you knit into the front, you do get a hole. I'm not questioning your description or ability, but that's the only thing I can think of. :D

knitqueen 06-24-2005 07:48 PM

I'm using M1 at the moment for sleeves. I pick up the bar from behind using the tip of my left needle, then knit into the front left of the stitch (exactly as you would do a normal knit stitch). It is tricky and very tight sometimes, but I have not had a problem with it leaving holes.

I got these instruction from "The Yarn Girls' Guide to Simple Knits".

Aby 06-24-2005 08:07 PM

That sounds about right. I made that mistake my first time, too. I knit into the front like normal instead of knitting into the back of the loop and sure enough, I got holes. :doh: That's why I love this site.. I was able to find out what I was doing wrong! I LOVE these gals!!!

stacyo415 06-25-2005 01:21 PM

thanks. i must have been picking up the thread between the stitches from the back and knitting tbl -- which caused the holes. i've ripped back and redid the increases and they are not holey!

thanks for your help.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 AM.


copyright knittinghelp.com