KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   First Project... huh? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=30910)

kome 07-25-2005 09:38 AM

First Project... huh?

Guage: 20 stitches and 26 rows = 4"x4"

So I started with that and now I have a long rectangle. I don't get it. How do I have more stitches on the needle now? I think they're are like 60. Obviously I'm new to this so someone please help me! :??

VickiIL 07-25-2005 09:42 AM

Re: First Project... huh?

Quote:

Originally Posted by kome
Guage: 20 stitches and 26 rows = 4"x4"

So I started with that and now I have a long rectangle. I don't get it. How do I have more stitches on the needle now? I think they're are like 60. Obviously I'm new to this so someone please help me! :??

I'll try to help but I am not sure if I understand your question. What you knitted is a guage swatch. That is just to check that your yarn weight, needle size and tension you knit with will produce the same results that the designer got when she designed the piece. This keeps your end result from being either to big or too small. After you knit the swatch you either bind off and keep it or frog it and start on your project by casting on what the designer tells you to.

Ingrid 07-25-2005 09:44 AM

Apparently you've been adding stitches somehow, which is not uncommon for new knitters. The length won't necessarily be the same as the gauge calls for. That's not as important as the stitch gauge.

I would start again, just for practice, and count your stitches after each row. I wouldn't worry about gauge just now. Cast on some stitches and knit, knit, knit until you really have a feel for it and you can recognize what a stitch should look like.