KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   What to do with that tail?!?! (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31882)

knitwitty 09-12-2005 03:16 PM

What to do with that tail?!?!

I've been knitting for a few months now, but still have trouble weaving in that tail and being certain it won't unravel. What's the best method for weaving in the tail? :??

Pixywhispers 09-12-2005 04:00 PM

Heres what I do. :)

Hi Knitwitty,

I like to weave where I am just weaving in and out of the stitches that can not be seen from the front. I do this by playing around with it and looking on the right side to see if I can see the needle as I stitch. I usually go five stitches in and out down one way, catch another row (for instance with purl) and go about 5 more stitches. Or I do it long in a seam maybe 10 stitches up then curl around another and come back down 3-5 stitches. Then I lightly stretch the fabric out where I have stitched then cut.

I think the more projects you do the more comfortable you get with this. I remember having the same concern. Ive made lots of hats and scarfs that have been very well loved and not had one unweave on me yet. Some of them have even been through three kids. And most of them I havent even seen the ends since I cut them.

It may not be "professiona" but so far it has worked.

Candace

knitwitty 09-12-2005 04:09 PM

Thanks, Pixy! I haven't even thought of turning around and going back down! I've been tying a knot after weaving through a few purl sts, weaving a few more and tying another knot. WHEW!

Ingrid 09-12-2005 05:11 PM

Another thing you can do if the yarn is not too heavy is to knit the first few stitches with the tail and the yarn at the same time. Just remember that on the next row it's one stitch, not two, even though there are two strands.