KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Knitting (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   could these pass as being hand knit? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39775)

teraberb 04-17-2006 10:50 PM

could these pass as being hand knit?

2 Attachment(s)
I'm a photographer and I am working on a project for a knitting store/coffee shop here in my town. I will be decorating their walls with pictures I've taken- all babies and kids wearing knit or crochet items. I just learned to knit myself a few weeks ago, so I'm new to all the knit stuff. Anyway, here's my question- could the items in these pictures pass as being hand knit? I'm fairly sure they were store bought, but I do like the pictures and I'm in need of more boys ones. So could things like this be made by hand, or are they obviously store bought?

Thanks for your help!
Tera

Ingrid 04-17-2006 10:54 PM

The bottom one definitely could. (Except that a REALLY experienced knitter might notice the edge of the ribbing and I don't think that's possible unless you use a machine--not positive, though.) The top one looks like it's lined, and most knitters don't do that, though it's possible.

Cristy 04-18-2006 08:27 AM

good eye ingrid...I didn't even see the lining. I was worried that the second one looked too perfect...

cheesiesmom 04-18-2006 09:11 AM

Last time I was in my LYS, I was drooling over the sample items thet were made with the various yarns. They looked perfect; but it didn't occur to me that they might have been machine knit. Just something for me to aspire to.

Denise in Michigan 04-18-2006 12:44 PM

Teraburb--
Just my opinion:
I know you're probably under time pressure, but it's not very complementary to new or experienced hand knitters to try to pass off machine-knit commercial items as hand knit.