KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Converting in the round to flat (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=41881)

Pixywhispers 06-15-2006 08:02 PM

Converting in the round to flat
 
Its stocknette. So do I just knit the ws rows? I dont have to knit any extra rows for length, do I?

Thanks,

IrishBaby 06-15-2006 08:05 PM

Gauge often differs with flat vs. circular knitting. Flat tends to be bigger than circular. Plus you may need to add two stitches as a seam allowance. Swatching would be good! :)

Pixywhispers 06-15-2006 08:28 PM

Thanks for the warning Irish baby. I did add 2 extra for seaming. :) I dont know why I didnt say so in the begining but it has eyelits and I guess thats why Im a bit freaked out and being cautious. Ive casted on three times over several days and keep having such ridiculous problems. It didnt even occur to me to swatch! Ive had such a fit with trying in the round first. I will go swatch. Thanks.

Ingrid 06-15-2006 08:37 PM

Re: Converting in the round to flat
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pixywhispers
Its stocknette. So do I just knit the ws rows? I dont have to knit any extra rows for length, do I?

Thanks,

If it's stockinette, you should knit the right side and purl the wrong side.

Pixywhispers 06-15-2006 08:56 PM

Thanks Ingrid. I'm sure I'm going to be proud of this once I'm finish, and I hope the tough part is behind me. :) Its just a simple hat, and I sure am making it harder.

I'm taking it on the road tommorrow and am just trying to get all my ducks in a row. Irish Baby, Ingrid, do one of you have a 1-800 number just in case I really mess up? :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


copyright knittinghelp.com