KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   How do I cast on when I'm 3 rows in? (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50165)

swarthygirl 12-17-2006 06:00 PM

How do I cast on when I'm 3 rows in?
 
I'm working on this teddy bear, and for the head portion on the 3rd row it says to "cast on 10 stitches" and continue working. I don't think that means "increase 10" because in later rows it says inc., not co.

So now I'm wondering if I knit on 10 stitches on the 2nd row and treat them as the third and not work them when I knit across on the third row, or if there's some other way to do this.

Thanks!

Jan in CA 12-17-2006 06:16 PM

Most people use the backword loop for middle of the row. There are tutorials at the top of the page.

swarthygirl 12-17-2006 06:59 PM

So just a standard increase, then? No strange casting on? That's a relief.

Jan in CA 12-17-2006 07:00 PM

That is one method of increase and works well for increasing in the middle of a row or in the middle of a pattern. I've also used the cable CO in the middle of a row and it works well, too. It does leave a little ridge at the bottom, but if you're going to seam it it would be fine.

swarthygirl 12-17-2006 07:14 PM

Oh okay, that clears it up. And I am a fan of cable cast-on. I'm probably going to go M1F, though, just because I want to try that out.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.


copyright knittinghelp.com