KnittingHelp.com Forum

KnittingHelp.com Forum (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/index.php)
-   How-to Questions (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   substitute yarns (http://www.knittinghelp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=52232)

nikkibeans 01-22-2007 05:32 PM

substitute yarns

I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction when it comes to substituting yarns out of patterns.

I am going to make my first ever sweater (yikes)
here
and was looking to find a more frugal substitute for yarn (especially since this is my first attempt at a sweater)

I started off looking for another worsted weight yarn that has about the same gauge and found Knit One Crochet Too Angora Soft closeout for $2.99/ball. I know that I would have to buy enough to allow for the yardage difference, but is there anything that I am missing?

Has anyone worked with this yarn before? did you like it?

sara_jayne 01-22-2007 05:34 PM

You can use the website Yarndex.com to compare yarns - to make sure the stitch guage is the same size and such. Be sure, even if you are using the yarn called for in the pattern to carefully check the guage through a swatch to make sure your garment will be the correct size.

nikkibeans 01-22-2007 06:37 PM

thanks for the help. I tried using the yarndex, but it can't find the yarns I'm trying to look up. Any secret to using that site?

hunterjenn 01-22-2007 09:05 PM

I just started something with Angora Soft, and I HATE it. The angora is woven in very sparsely, so it really just seems like a cotton with a few stray cat hairs...know what I mean? Also, the first ball I used had FOUR knots.